It’s good to talk (properly)


Lou Hoffman’s latest post in his blog Ismael’s Corner reminded me of the need to talk properly (and effectively) in business conversations, and of my own experiences with learning to listen to a business associate, Max Burt.

Because Max is disabled (his car was run over by a fire engine in the UK in 1999) I’ve had to learn over the past 12 months of working with him to focus on him, and only him, when we’re talking.

After a while I realized that I was adopting an almost blinkered approach when I listened to him. Everything else was shut out because it had to be.

And I realized that I was a bad listener and that the only way to listen properly is actually to listen properly. So Lou’s observations are well made.

The irony is that earlier in his career, Max worked on the UK British Telecom TV advertising campaign that was called ‘It’s Good to Talk’.

It is. And it’s good to listen as well. Properly.

 

About alansmithoz

Head of Strategic Business Communications at Australian social analytics technology company Digivizer, with a background in corporate public relations and marketing. I do what I do because I believe communications can make a difference.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a reply: connecting and communicating counts!

